Posted on

Don’t Call Me Sassy

“Do I sound too cynical?”  This is the question I ask myself almost every time I write a post.  In general I am an easy-going and laid-back person but there is always a slight undertone of sarcasm and cynicism in my language and writing.  I can’t help it; I was raised in a family that taught me to be tough and to keep my guard up.  My uncles hazed all the nieces and nephews and as we grew up we realized they had made us immune to bullies and it had made us strong.

That mentality has certainly carried over into my writing and while I think it has become a positive part of my style as a writer, I also think at times it may turn people off.  My writing is sometimes judgmental of the world around me, and while I see it as only putting my opinions and experiences into words, some may see it a little different, maybe mean even.

To be clear that is not my intention.  My intention is to present entertainment news and events in a style and perspective all my own and if that style happens to be a bit dark then so be it.  The phrase “You can’t please everyone” rings so true for bloggers.  I write from my point of view and if I tried to change that I might not be as satisfied with the work I produce.

If women like Tina Fey, Gilda Radner, and Amy Poehler had listened to their harshest critics at the start of their careers then they may not be the icons they are now.  These women wrote jokes and skits and sometimes they weren’t all unicorns and rainbows.  They took their greatest challenges and turned them into something funny and entertaining.  They inspire my writing and while sometimes I may need to scale back the disenchanted voice, I feel as though my challenge is an advantage really.

Also, please..please don’t call my writing sassy, its not exactly a term of endearment in my cynical and dark opinion.

Leave a comment